AFCCE, IEEE-BTS and National Translator Association Announce Spring 2020 Scholarship Recipients

January 15, 2020 — Nine Students at Seven U.S. Universities Receive Awards Totaling $29,000
Inaugural Byron W. St. Clair Recipient Announced

The Association of Federal Communications Consulting Engineers (AFCCE), the IEEE Broadcast Technology Society (BTS), and the National Translator Association (NTA) today announced the award of nine scholarships to students interested in telecommunications.  Scholarship amounts ranged from $1000 to $5,000.  The Spring 2020 scholarship recipients were:

Maurice Compton                   University of Dallas

Nathan Ellsworth                     University of Texas at Dallas

Andrew Heller                         University of Minnesota

Md. Tajul Islam                       University of Missouri at Kansas City

Daniel Klawson                       University of Maryland at College Park

Obagaeli Ngene-Igwe             University of Cincinnati

Prosanta Paul                         Old Dominion University

Dylan Stewart                         Old Dominion University

Rafida Zaman                         University of Missouri at Kansas City

Mr. Heller is the first recipient of the Byron W. St. Clair Memorial Scholarship, a new program that awards scholarships to promising students, who are planning to pursue a career in broadcast engineering.  The St. Clair Scholarship is sponsored by the National Translator Association. 

Ellsworth, Islam, Klawson and Stewart received IEEE Broadcast Technology Society/AFCCE Jules Cohen Memorial Scholarships, a program that awards scholarships of up to $10,000 to promising undergraduate or graduate students, who are planning to pursue a career in broadcast engineering. Zaman was the recipient of the E. Noel Luddy Scholarship, sponsored by Dielectric Communications (Raymond, Maine). 

“The IEEE Broadcast Technology Society (BTS) is dedicated toward advancing electrical and electronic engineering and by sponsoring the Jules Cohen Memorial Scholarships helps support the next generation of technologists who will become scientists, engineers or technicians developing the next generation of technology driven products and services” said Ralph Hogan, president, IEEE BTS.

“AFCCE is committed to helping develop engineering talent in radio frequency technologies, including antennas, propagation, transmission, and spectrum management.  These scholarships represent our largest ever award to promising students whom we hope will help shape the future of telecommunications,” said John George, president of AFCCE.

“NTA congratulates Mr. Heller.  This scholarship is a good first step in the tradition of Byron St.Clair to enlighten young minds and encourage more interest in broadcast engineering, especially in the areas of translator and low power television.  NTA is happy to join these distinguished organizations in offering this new opportunity that includes students who are entering two-year engineering programs,” said John Terrill, president of NTA.

AFCCE has awarded scholarships for over 30 years to both undergraduate and graduate students, based on qualifications, and financial need. The specific requirements for each scholarship vary, but all applicants must be enrolled in an engineering or related technical curriculum and demonstrate an interest in telecommunications.

Evaluated by an AFCCE scholarship committee including IEEE BTS members, Jules Cohen Memorial Scholarship applicants are ranked based on their explicit interest in broadcast engineering as expressed in a personal statement, their academic record, financial need, and relevant extracurricular activities. Applicants for other AFCCE scholarships have slightly different requirements.  Applications for Fall 2020 semester will be accepted beginning March 1, 2020 until April. 30, 2020.

More information about the AFCCE Scholarships (including the Jules Cohen Memorial Scholarship) is available at . Additional information about the IEEE BTS is available at .

# # #


The IEEE Broadcast Technology Society (BTS) is an International membership organization open to everyone in the broadcast technology industry and allied fields.  The BTS mission is to serve the needs of its members; to enhance their professional knowledge by keeping them informed of the latest research results and industry trends, and provide enriching educational and networking opportunities.

Follow IEEE BTS:




About Association of Federal Communications Consulting Engineers (AFCCE)

AFCCE was founded in 1948 as a professional association of communications engineers practicing before the FCC. The purpose of the Association is to aid and promote the proper federal administration and regulation of those engineering and technical phases of communications, which are regulated by the FCC. In its primary function, the AFCCE monitors the technical policy of the FCC to ensure that the agency's regulations coincide as closely as possible with sound engineering principles. Connect with AFCCE on Twitter @AFCCE, Facebook, and Linked-In. 

About National Translator Association (NTA)

NTA fights to ensure that over-the-air television and radio is available for free to residents of smaller communities, however remotely located.  More information on NTA is available at