Congratulations to all of the BTS members that have been elected to the ATSC Board

Friedel, Sockett, Kim, Reitmeier Begin Terms in January
WASHINGTON, Dec. 20, 2019 – Members of the Advanced Television Systems Committee Inc. elected four 
experienced industry executives to serve on the ATSC Board of Directors for three-year terms that 
begin in January 2020, while two directors were appointed to the ATSC board by their respective 
professional associations.
Current directors who were re-elected are Dr. Jong Kim, LG Electronics, and Pete Sockett, Capitol 
Broadcasting. Two previous Board Chairmen – Richard Friedel, Fox Television Sta- tions, and former 
NBC Universal executive Glenn Reitmeier, GlennReitmeierTV LLC – are returning to the board after 
being term-limited in 2018.
Dave Siegler, who previously represented Cox Media Group on the ATSC Board, was ap- pointed to the 
board by the Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers (SMPTE). Former ATSC Board Chairman 
Wayne Luplow, formerly with Zenith Electronics, was ap- pointed by the Institute of Electrical and 
Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as its 2020 ATSC board representative.
Current board members whose terms continue in 2020 are: Lynn Claudy, National Associ- ation of 
Broadcasters; Mark Corl, Triveni Digital; Jim DeChant, News-Press & Gazette Company; Jon Fairhurst, 
Samsung; Ira Goldstone, Cobalt Digital; Brian Markwalter, Con- sumer Technology Association; Anne 
Schelle, Pearl TV; Andy Scott, NCTA – The Internet and Television Association; and Craig Todd, 
ATSC thanks board members who completed their terms at the end of 2019: Thomas Bause Mason, SMPTE; 
Dr. Paul Hearty, Technology Advisors; and Dr. Yiyan Wu, Commu- nications Research Centre, who 
represented IEEE on the board this year. Claudy is complet- ing his current term as ATSC Board 
Chairman at year-end. The board will elect the 2020 Chairman at its first meeting of the new year.
“The  strategic  direction  and  insights  of  our  talented  board  members  are  especially  im- 
portant at this critical time as ATSC supports the commercialization of Next Gen Broadcast- ing in 
the U.S. and around the world,” said ATSC President Madeleine Noland. “I recognize and appreciate 
the board’s expertise and support for balancing progress and stability as ATSC 3.0 standards are 
updated and preparing for our future continues in the months and
years ahead.”
# # #

About ATSC:

The Advanced Television Systems Committee is defining the future of television with the ATSC
3.0 next-generation broadcast standard.  ATSC is an international, non-profit organization de- 
veloping voluntary standards for digital television. ATSC’s 130-plus member organizations rep- 
resent the broadcast, broadcast equipment, motion picture, consumer electronics, computer, cable, 
satellite, and semiconductor industries. For more information visit
ATSC Media Contact:
Dave Arland (317) 701-0084